Stucco1

Prof. Dr. Welf Werner

Director / Professor of American Studies

Heidelberg Center for American Studies
Curt und Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais
Hauptstraße 120
69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221-54 38 80
F: +49 (0)6221-54 37 19
E-mail: wwerner@hca.uni-heidelberg.de

Joint Appointment with the Faculty of Economics
and Social Sciences


Born in Göttingen, the director of the Heidelberg Center for American Studies was trained in economics, finance, management, and economic history at the Freie Universität Berlin and Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. Before joining the faculty of International University Bremen as Professor of International Economics in 2004, he taught U.S. economic policy and history as lecturer and assistant professor at the John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies. Welf Werner received his Ph.D. and venia legendi from the Economics Department of the Freie Universität in 1992 and 2003, respectively. He was a John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellow at Harvard University’s Center for European Studies in 1994 and returned to the U.S. in 1997 as a research fellow at both Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) and George Washington University.

In February 2018, Welf Werner was appointed Professor of American Studies at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences at Universität Heidelberg and director of the HCA. His research and teaching focus on U.S. domestic and foreign economic policies while giving due regard to their intertwining with history and political science. His interdisciplinary cooperation has occasionally gone beyond the social sciences, as, for example, with the volume Wie viel Ungleichheit verträgt die Demokratie? Armut und Reichtum in den USA, co-edited with Winfried Fluck in 2004. Specific research interests have touched upon fields such as international trade in services, financial market globalization, monetary regime change, natural disasters and international risk management, globalization and inequality, welfare state reform, and the economic determinants of populism.

Welf Werner has occasionally advised private companies and industries on their international endeavors and engaged in public sector consulting, including for the economics ministries of Germany and Jordan. He has been granted research funding and academic honors from institutions such as Harvard University, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, VolkswagenStiftung, the German Academic Exchange Service, the German Marshall Fund of the United States, Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, Bundesverband Deutscher Banken, Bremer Landesbank, and Stiftungsfonds Deutsche Bank.

Verantwortlich: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 2018-02-09
zum Seitenanfang/up

Stucco1

Prof. Dr. Welf Werner

Direktor / Professor für American Studies

Heidelberg Center for American Studies
Curt und Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais
Hauptstraße 120
69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221-54 38 80
F: +49 (0)6221-54 37 19
E-mail: wwerner@hca.uni-heidelberg.de

Joint Appointment mit der Fakultät für Wirtschafts-
und Sozialwissenschaften


Der Direktor des Heidelberg Center for American Studies wurde in Göttingen geboren. Er studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre, Finanzwirtschaft, Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Wirtschaftsgeschichte an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. Bevor er im Jahr 2004 an die International University Bremen auf eine Professur für Weltwirtschaft berufen wurde, unterrichtete er U.S.-Wirtschaftspolitik und –geschichte als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Wissenschaftlicher Assistent am John F. Kennedy Institut für Nordamerikastudien. Promotion, Habilitation und Venia Legendi erfolgten im Fach Volkswirtschaftslehre durch die Freie Universität Berlin 1992 und 2003. Welf Werner war 1994 John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellow der Harvard University und kehrte 1997 als Research Fellow der Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) und der George Washington University in die USA zurück.

Im Februar 2018 nahm Welf Werner seine Tätigkeit an der Universität Heidelberg als Professor für American Studies der Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaft und Direktor des HCA auf. In Lehre und Forschung beschäftigt er sich mit der Binnen- und Außenwirtschaftspolitik der USA und ihren vielfältigen Bezügen zu den Geschichts- und Politikwissenschaften. Seine interdisziplinären Projekte überschreiten bisweilen die sozialwissenschaftlichen Grenzen, wie etwa der Band Wie viel Ungleichheit verträgt die Demokratie? Armut und Reichtum in den USA, den er zusammen mit Winfried Fluck 2004 herausgegeben hat. Welf Werners Forschungsinteressen umfassen Themen wie den internationalen Dienstleistungshandel, Finanzmarktglobalisierung, den Wandel des monetären Außenwirtschaftsregimes, Naturkatastrophen und internationales Risikomanagement, Globalisierung und Ungleichheit, Wohlfahrtsstaatsreform und die wirtschaftlichen Determinanten populistischer Bewegungen.

Welf Werner arbeitet gelegentlich als Berater für internationale Wirtschaftsfragen mit Unternehmen und Regierungsinstitutionen, wie etwa mit den Wirtschaftsministerien Deutschlands und Jordaniens. Er hat akademische Auszeichnungen und finanzielle Förderung von verschiedenen Institutionen erhalten, darunter der Harvard University, der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, der VolkswagenStiftung, dem German Marshall Fund of the United States, dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst, der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, dem Bundesverband Deutscher Banken, der Bremer Landesbank und dem Stiftungsfonds Deutsche Bank.

Verantwortlich: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 09.02.2018
zum Seitenanfang/up