Bereichsbild
Stucco-wbg
Contact

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
Downloads
Home > About us >

History

In January of 2002, a group of Heidelberg professors and administrators set up an interdisciplinary initiative with the aim of establishing a new center for the study of the United States of America at Germany’s oldest university. The first order of business of the Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA) was to develop a novel graduate studies program: the Master of Arts in American Studies (MAS). To raise public awareness of its activities, the HCA initiative also organized a public lecture series, “Typically American,” during the winter term 2002-03, which soon attracted a broad audience. Within a year of its creation, the HCA opened a small office from which it continued to develop the MAS and future research projects and conferences.

Ten departments from six faculties committed themselves to the program, enabling a broad range of disciplines to be represented at the HCA: American literature and culture, economics, geography, history, law, musicology, philosophy, political science, theological studies, and sociology.

In December of 2003, thanks to the generous support of Heidelberg entrepreneur and philanthropist Manfred Lautenschläger, the HCA was able to settle into more spacious quarters in Heidelberg’s beautiful Weststadt.

Four months later, the center hosted its first conference, the HCA Spring Academy 2004 on American History, Culture, and Politics. Twenty-six European and American Ph.D. students from ten countries and six academic disciplines participated in this conference. The annual Spring Academy has since become a highly regarded forum for international Ph.D. students in the field of American Studies and has to date attracted more than twelve hundred applications from more than 65 countries.

After Heidelberg University and the Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts of the State of Baden-Württemberg both approved the statutes of the HCA as well as the regulations governing the proposed new Master’s program, the HCA was officially inaugurated as a central academic institution at Heidelberg University on October 20, 2004. Simultaneously, the first class of the MAS program enrolled. A Board of Directors was established, convening for the first time in December of 2004, and was subsequently joined by a Board of Trustees.

During the following years, the HCA substantially expanded its activities. This would not have been possible had it not been for another major donation. In early 2006, Curt Engelhorn acquired the “Haus Neukirch,” a beautiful baroque town house in the heart of Heidelberg’s historic city center. With restorations still under way, the HCA moved into its new home, the Curt and Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais, in May of 2006.

The Curt and Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais opened up a whole new range of possibilities for the HCA. In order to fully realize the new potential, Heidelberg University, the State of Baden-Württemberg, and private donors agreed to set up a matching fund for the future development of the HCA. This fund enabled the HCA to initiate a joint venture with the American Academy in Berlin, bringing renowned fellows of that prestigious institution to the region as part of the Academy’s Baden-Württemberg Seminar. In addition, the HCA was able to introduce a year-round Fellow-in-Residence program in 2007 and add another three young scholars to its staff, thereby broadening its research and teaching capacities. These were much needed, as a year earlier, in 2006, the HCA had launched a three-year English-language Ph.D. with a multidisciplinary curriculum.

The next major development was the commitment of Heidelberg University in the spring of 2009 to provide funding for the HCA on a permanent basis once its start-up financing expired. In light of this reassuring news the HCA could celebrate the fifth anniversary of its founding (and the 70th birthday of its founding director) at Heidelberg Castle. The center’s vibrant growth continued. In October, the HCA not only celebrated its fifth commencement but also dedicated its new academic facilities, a modern annex to the landmark palais. The fall of 2009 also saw the first semester of the Baden-Württemberg Seminar under the exclusive direction of the HCA.

In late November of 2009, the HCA learned that its application – supported by Heidelberg University – for the creation of two professorships to be shared with the Department of Geography and the Faculty of Theology, respectively, had been approved by the state government. These professorships were allocated under a special program designed to alleviate the impact of two classes of secondary school graduates hitting German universities in the same year, 2012. In the spring of 2011, Ulrike Gerhard came to the HCA as Professor of Human Geography of North America, and Jan Stievermann joined the HCA as Professor of the History of Christianity in the United States. A few months earlier, the HCA had successfully completed negotiations with the English Department over a joint appointment of Günter Leypoldt, Professor of American Literature and Culture. This was the second joint appointment after Manfred Berg, the Curt Engelhorn Chair of American History, in 2009. With two “bridge professors” and two joint appointments, the HCA has now established firm operational “bridges” to the departments of History, English, Geography, and Theology.

This development went hand in hand, however, with new obligations, as the HCA was required to establish a three-year B.A. program in order to create the necessary capacities for the anticipated students. The first half of 2010 was therefore dominated by conceptualizing a new course of studies that would be true to the HCA’s multidisciplinary custom, yet geared toward a different, that is undergraduate, clientele. Under the guidance of Dr. Andreas Barz from the Dezernat für Studium und Lehre and with support from the Faculties of Philosophy, Theology, Chemistry and Earth Sciences, Modern Languages, Economics and Social Sciences, and Law, as well as several student representatives, the B.A. in American Studies (BAS) was developed in record time and shepherded through the bodies of the university. When the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts finally authorized the results, barely four weeks were left before the university’s application period for the fall term closed. This program became an instant success; in the fall of 2016, a total of 98 B.A. students are enrolled at the HCA; to date, more than twelve hundred have applied.

The HCA also continued to expand its activities both as a center for interdisciplinary research and as a facilitator of transatlantic academic exchange. Since 2012 the HCA together with Heidelberg University’s Faculty of Theology has been annually awarding the James W.C. Pennington Award, generously endowed by the Lautenschläger Foundation. In the same year the Jonathan Edwards Center Germany was inaugurated. The center is a partnership between the Department of Theology and the Heidelberg Center for American Studies with the Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale Divinity School. Together these institutions seek to further work on Edwards and early American religious history by supporting and advising related academic projects, by providing primary and secondary source materials, offering seminars, organizing lectures and conferences, as well as by engaging in student and faculty exchange both with Yale and the other international centers. In 2015 a new cooperation was initiated between the HCA and the University of Notre Dame, specifically its department of history and American Studies program. The focus will be on doctoral and post-doctoral exchanges as well as on research collaborations. So far delegations met for two colloquia, and each side will host a post-doc in the academic year 2016-17.

In the fall of 2016, the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG) approved a grant application worth EUR 3.5 million for a new research training group based at the HCA. The projects of the group focus on "Authority and Trust in American Culture, Society, History and Politics." It rests on the shoulders of ten researchers from different disciplines including geography, history, linguistics, literature, political science, and cultural and religious studies. In addition, associate scholars from Germany, Europe, and North America are be involved in the new research training group. The emergence and transformation of authority in state and civil society, social institutions, urban spaces, culture and religion, are at the center of the group's research program, as well as the shifting trust relationships inside the United States and in the transatlantic world. Professor Manfred Berg (Curt Engelhorn Chair of American History) serves as spokesperson of the research training group, Professor Günter Leypoldt (Department of English) is the deputy spokesperson. The first four-and-a-half-year funding period began in October 2017 and involves ten doctoral students, four research students, and one postdoctoral scholar. The research training group will make important scholarly contributions to this field and at the same time offer an innovative qualification program that will help young scholars to launch their careers inside and outside academia.

In 2015, Heidelberg University created a new professorship in American Studies to ensure the succession of the HCA’s founding director. In the spring of 2017, Welf Werner received this position, a joint appointment at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences and the HCA. In February 2018, the HCA board of directors elected him as the center’s new director. Before coming to Heidelberg, Welf Werner was Professor of International Economics at the Jacobs University Bremen. Prior to that, he taught as an assistant professor at the John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies of the Free University of Berlin. In 1994, Welf Werner was a John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellow at Harvard University, and in 1997 he returned to the United States as a research fellow at both the School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) at Johns Hopkins University and George Washington University. As the new director of the HCA, Welf Werner adds economics to the center’s portfolio, giving due regard to the discipline’s intertwining with history and political science.

HCA: Email
Latest Revision: 2018-02-19
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
Downloads

Geschichte

Die Gründung des Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA) geht auf eine Anfang 2002 gestartete Initiative von Heidelberger Hochschullehrern zurück, an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität ein interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Amerikaforschung aufzubauen. Diese Bemühungen resultierten zunächst in der Einrichtung eines neuen Aufbaustudiengangs, dem Master of Arts in American Studies (MAS). Zudem organisierte die „Initiativgruppe HCA“ im Wintersemester 2002/2003 die erste Vortragsreihe "Typisch Amerikanisch", um einem breiten Publikum amerikarelevante Themen näherzubringen. Diese Vortragsreihe hat von Beginn an großen Anklang in der Öffentlichkeit gefunden.

Im Mai 2003 stellte Manfred Lautenschläger dem frischgebackenen Institut in der Heidelberger Weststadt einige Büroräume zur Verfügung. Knapp ein Jahr später, im April 2004, richtete das HCA seine erste internationale Konferenz aus, die HCA Spring Academy 2004. Dabei handelte es sich um eine seither in jedem Frühjahr ausgerichtete, einwöchige interdisziplinäre Konferenz für Doktoranden, die im Bereich der Amerikawissenschaften promovieren.

Im Frühjahr 2004 genehmigten sowohl die Universität Heidelberg als auch das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg die Studienordnung des MAS und die Satzung des HCA. Am 20. Oktober 2004 wurde das HCA schließlich offiziell als zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg eröffnet. Zeitgleich nahmen die ersten MAS-Studenten ihr Studium am HCA auf. Die konstituierende Sitzung des Direktoriums fand im Januar 2005 statt. Im Juni 2006 traf sich das Kuratorium des HCA zu seiner ersten Sitzung.

Ende Mai 2006 bezog das HCA seine neuen Büroräume im Curt und Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais in der Hauptstraße 120, inmitten der Heidelberger Altstadt. Das Haus wurde von unserem Förderer Curt Engelhorn gekauft, renoviert und dem HCA für zunächst zehn Jahre mietfrei zur Verfügung gestellt.

Mit dem Bezug des Curt und Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais eröffneten sich dem HCA völlig neue Möglichkeiten. Um das neue Entwicklungspotenzial des Instituts auszuschöpfen, begründeten die Universität Heidelberg, das Land Baden-Württemberg und private Förderer einen Matching Fund. Dieser Fonds ermöglichte dem HCA, ein gemeinsames Programm mit der American Academy in Berlin zu initiieren, das im Rahmen des Baden-Württemberg Seminars Fellows der Academy zu Vorträgen ans HCA und an Partnerinstitutionen im Land brachte. Außerdem legte das HCA 2007 ein Fellow-in-Residence Programm auf und konnte drei weitere Mitarbeiter anstellen, was seine Möglichkeiten in Forschung und Lehre beträchtlich erweiterte. Diese Erweiterung war unter anderem notwendig geworden, weil das Institut im Jahr zuvor ein dreijähriges strukturiertes Ph.D. Programm mit einem multidisziplinären englischsprachigen Curriculum aus der Taufe gehoben hatte.

Der nächste große Entwicklungsschritt des HCA erfolgte im Frühjahr 2009, als die Universität Heidelberg eine Dauerfinanzierung nach dem Auslaufen der Anschubfinanzierung zusagte. Angesichts dieser ermutigenden Nachrichten konnte das HCA seinen fünften Geburtstag (und den 70. seines Gründungsdirektors) auf dem Heidelberger Schloss feiern. Das dynamische Wachstum des HCA hielt an. Im Oktober 2009 konnte man nicht nur die fünfte akademische Abschlussfeier begehen, sondern gleichzeitig den modernen Annex des Curt und Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais einweihen. Im Herbst 2009 fand außerdem das erste Baden-Württemberg Seminar unter alleiniger Regie des HCA statt.

Ende November 2009 konnte sich das HCA darüber freuen, dass die Landesregierung die Bewerbung für zwei Brückenprofessuren mit dem Institut für Geographie bzw. der Theologischen Fakultät positiv beschieden hatte. Sie hatte diese sogenannten „2012er Professuren” geschaffen, um die Auswirkungen eines doppelten Abiturjahrgangs an den Hochschulen abzufedern. Im Frühjahr 2011 konnte das HCA Ulrike Gerhard als Professorin für die Humangeographie Nordamerikas und Jan Stievermann als Professor für die Geschichte des Christentums in den USA begrüßen. Einige Monate zuvor hatte das HCA bereits erfolgreich mit dem Anglistischen Seminar der Universität Heidelberg über ein Joint Appointment von Günter Leypoldt, Professor für Amerikanische Literatur und Kulturwissenschaft, verhandelt. Dies war das zweite Joint Appointment nach dem von Manfred Berg, Inhaber des Curt Engelhorn Lehrstuhls für Amerikanische Geschichte am Historischen Seminar der Universität Heidelberg, das seit 2009 bestand. Mit zwei „Brückenprofessuren“ und zwei Joint Appointments waren dem HCA feste “Brückenschläge” in das Historische und Anglistische Seminar, an das Institut für Geographie und die Theologische Fakultät gelungen.

Allerdings ging diese Entwicklung Hand in Hand mit neuen Aufgaben, da das HCA sich verpflichtet hatte, ein dreijähriges B.A. Programm einzurichten, um die nötigen Kapazitäten für die steigenden Studentenzahlen bereitzustellen. Die Konzeptualisierung dieses neuen Studienganges nahm die erste Jahreshälfte 2010 in Anspruch; es galt, ein Programm zu schaffen, das der multidisziplinären Tradition des Centers treu blieb, aber eine andere Zielgruppe ansprach. Unter der Federführung von Dr. Andreas Barz vom Dezernat für Studium und Lehre und mit Unterstützung der Philosophischen, Neuphilologischen, Theologischen und Juristischen Fakultäten sowie der Fakultäten für Chemie und Geowissenschaften und für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie studentischen Vertretern wurde der B.A. in American Studies (BAS) in Rekordgeschwindigkeit entwickelt und durch die Universitätsgremien gelotst. Als das baden-württembergische Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst den Studiengang schließlich offiziell genehmigt hatte, blieben gerade noch vier Wochen bis zum Ende der Bewerbungsfrist für das Wintersemester. Dennoch war das Programm von Anfang an eine Erfolgsgeschichte – im Wintersemester 2016 hatte es fast 100 Studierende und mehr als 1.200 haben sich bis heute um einen Studienplatz beworben.

Das HCA erweiterte außerdem seine Aktivitäten in der interdisziplinären Forschung und im transatlantischen akademischen Austausch. Seit 2012 vergibt es zusammen mit der Theologischen Fakultät jährlich den James W.C. Pennington Award, großzügig dotiert von der Manfred Lautenschläger Stiftung. Im selben Jahr wurde das Jonathan Edwards Center Germany aus der Taufe gehoben, eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem HCA und der Theologischen Fakultät mit dem Jonathan Edwards Center der Yale Divinity School. Im Verbund unterstützen diese Institutionen einschlägige Forschungsprojekte über Edwards und die frühe amerikanische Religionsgeschichte, indem sie Quellen und Sekundärliteratur zugänglich machen, Seminare anbieten, Vorträge und Konferenzen organisieren und den Austausch von Studierenden und Dozenten zwischen Yale und den internationalen Edwards Centern unterstützen. Im Jahr 2015 stießen das HCA und die University of Notre Dame, speziell ihre Programme in Geschichte und American Studies, eine weitere transatlantische Kooperation an. Hier liegt der Focus auf dem Austausch von Doktoranden und Postdocs sowie in der Kollaboration bei Forschungsprojekten. Bisher sind die Beteiligten auf zwei Kolloquien zusammengekommen und hatten im akademischen Jahr 2016-17 jeweils einen Postdoc der anderen Seite zu Gast.

Im Herbst 2016 bewilligte die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) Fördermittel in Höhe von rund 3,5 Millionen EUR für ein am HCA angesiedeltes Graduiertenkolleg. Seine Projekte drehen sich um „Autorität und Vertrauen in der Amerikanischen Kultur, Gesellschaft, Geschichte und Politik“. Es ruht auf den Schultern von zehn Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus der Geographie, der Geschichte und Religionsgeschichte, den Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaften sowie der Politikwissenschaft. Darüber hinaus sind assoziierte Forscher aus Deutschland, Europa und Nordamerika am Graduiertenkolleg “Authority and Trust” (GKAT) beteiligt. Im Fokus des Forschungsprogramms befinden sich Entstehung und Wandel von Autorität in Staat und Zivilgesellschaft, sozialen Institutionen, urbanen Räumen, Kultur und Religion ebenso wie sich verändernde Vertrauenskonstellationen innerhalb der USA sowie in der transatlantischen Welt. Die Sprecherfunktion hat Professor Manfred Berg (Curt Engelhorn Lehrstuhl für Amerikanische Geschichte); Professor Günter Leypoldt (Anglistisches Seminar) ist stellvertretender Sprecher. Die erste Förderperiode von viereinhalb Jahren hat im Oktober 2017 mit zehn Doktoranden, vier Forschungsstudierenden und einem Postdoc begonnen. Die Mitglieder des GKAT leisten wichtige Beiträge in einem Themenfeld, das sowohl in der wissenschaftlichen wie in der öffentlichen Diskussion hoch aktuell ist. Das Kolleg bietet zugleich dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs eine innovative Ausbildung für Tätigkeiten innerhalb und außerhalb der akademischen Welt.

Im Jahr 2015 schuf die Universität Heidelberg eine neue Professur für American Studies, um die Nachfolge des HCA-Gründungsdirektors sicherzustellen. Welf Werner wurde im Frühling 2017 auf diese Professur berufen, ein Joint Appointment an der Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften und am HCA. Im Februar 2018 wählte ihn das Direktorium des HCA zum Direktor des Centers. Bevor er nach Heidelberg kam, hatte Welf Werner als Professor für International Economics an der International Jacobs University Bremen gelehrt, davor als Wissenschaftlicher Assistent am John F. Kennedy Institut für Nordamerikastudien der Freien Universität Berlin. 1994 war Welf Werner John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellow der Harvard University. 1997 kehrte er als Research Fellow sowohl an der School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) der Johns Hopkins University als auch an der George Washington University in die USA zurück. Als neuer Direktor des HCA stärkt Professor Welf Werner die Wirtschaftswissenschaften disziplinär, auch hinsichtlich ihrer Verflechtungen mit den Geschichts- und Politikwissenschaften.

HCA: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 19.02.2018
zum Seitenanfang/up