Bereichsbild
Stucco-wbg
Contact

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
Downloads
Home > About us >

About the HCA

The Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA) is a central research and teaching institution of the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, Germany’s oldest university. Financially, it is at the same time a public-private partnership, attracting about two-thirds of its budget from private donors. Founded in 2003, the HCA’s purpose is to provide and impart the knowledge needed to understand the politics, culture, economy and society of the United States of America. The Center also facilitates a dialogue between academia and the public and contributes to the creation and strengthening of transatlantic networks.

With the founding of the Heidelberg Center for American Studies, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Detlef Junker has opened a new chapter in the university's profound interest in America exemplified among others through the Schurman Library for American History and the Curt Engelhorn Chair in American History.

At the HCA, the America-related research of six university faculties and ten disciplines converges, offering a range of expertise that is unique in the academic world: American Literature and Culture, Art History, Economics, Geography, History, Musicology, Political Science, Theology, Sociology, and U.S. Constitutional Law.

Graduates of the HCA’s B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. programs profit from their interdisciplinary and intercultural education and are well qualified to work as experts on the United States in academic institutions, the civil service, private enterprise, the media, and non-profit organizations. Since 2004, more than 300 students from almost 50 countries have enrolled in our programs.

Since May 2006, the HCA is fortunate to call the Curt and Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais its home, an elegant and inviting 300-year-old baroque townhouse that exudes a splendidly communicative atmosphere.

HCA: Email
Latest Revision: 2014-03-18
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
HCA-Jahresberichte

Über uns

Das Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA) ist eine zentrale akademische Einrichtung der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg und finanziell zugleich eine Public-Private Partnership. Das im Jahr 2003 gegründete multidisziplinäre Zentrum erforscht, analysiert und vermittelt Kenntnisse über historische, kulturelle, wirtschaftliche, politische und gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen in den USA. Das HCA fördert zudem den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit und trägt zur Schaffung und Stärkung transatlantischer Netzwerke bei.

Gründungsdirektor ist Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Detlef Junker, der damit, nach dem Aufbau der Schurman-Bibliothek für Amerikanische Geschichte und des Curt-Engelhorn-Stiftungslehrstuhls für Amerikanische Geschichte am Historischen Seminar der Universität, die Amerikastudien an der Ruperto Carola um eine neue Dimension erweiterte.

Das HCA bündelt die auf Amerika bezogene Forschung von sechs Fakultäten und zehn Disziplinen und bietet damit eine weltweit einzigartige Vielfalt regionalwissenschaftlicher Expertise an: Amerikanische Literatur und Kultur, Geographie, Geschichte, Kunstgeschichte, Musikwissenschaft, Politikwissenschaft, Theologie, Soziologie, Wirtschaftswissenschaft und Verfassungsrecht.

In unseren Bachelor-, Master- und Promotionsprogrammen bilden wir interdisziplinär geschulte und interkulturell qualifizierte Amerikaexperten für die Wissenschaft, den öffentlichen Sektor, die Wirtschaft, Medien und zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen aus. Über 300 Studierende aus fast 50 Ländern haben dieses Angebot seit 2004 wahrgenommen.

Mit dem Curt und Heidemarie Engelhorn Palais verfügt das HCA inmitten der Heidelberger Altstadt über ein ebenso elegantes wie kommunikatives Domizil.

HCA: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 18.03.2014
zum Seitenanfang/up