Bereichsbild
Stucco-wbg
Contact

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
Downloads
Home > About us >

Mission

Founded in 2003, the Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA) is a central academic facility of the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, Germany's oldest university. Financially, it is at the same time a public-private partnership (PPP), attracting about two-thirds of its budget from private donors.

The HCA serves three main purposes:

  • As an institute for higher education, we provide interdisciplinary academic and cultural training for qualified graduate and postgraduate students from around the world, offering B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. programs in American Studies.
  • As a center for interdisciplinary research, we host international conferences and serve as a venue for interdisciplinary research projects as well as for individual research.
  • As a forum for public debate, we encourage and facilitate communication among the academia and the general public as well as between the business community, the political sphere, and the media.

The University of Heidelberg's 625-year-old tradition of excellence, its international reputation, and its strong record in the study of the United States, as well as Heidelberg's long-standing ties across the Atlantic, combine to create the ideal environment for the HCA.

An Institute for Higher Education

Graduates of the HCA’s B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. programs profit from their interdisciplinary and intercultural education and are well qualified to work as experts on the United States in academic institutions, the civil service, the economy, the media, and non-profit organizations. The faculty consists of German professors and lecturers who have spent a considerable time in the United States and visiting professors from America who have a substantial international background. American Studies at the HCA are thus characterized by both sound knowledge about the United States and alternate viewpoints: "Inside knowledge with an outside perspective!”

All classes at the HCA are held in English, attracting students from all over the world. So far, students from more than 40 countries have received their degree and started to build an international network of specialists on the U.S. that will continue to grow. In cooperation with the Curt-Engelhorn Chair for American History at the History Department, the HCA conducts excursions to the United States for students of Heidelberg University.

A Center for Interdisciplinary Research

At the HCA, the America-related research of six university faculties and ten disciplines converges, offering a range of expertise that is unique in the academic world. The interaction between the various disciplines makes it possible to teach American Studies with a cross-disciplinary perspective and therefore to do justice to the complexity of the object of research – the United States. By creating a number of in-house academic positions and a center for visiting scholars, the HCA is positioning itself as a competitive and internationally renowned center for interdisciplinary research.

Its Ph.D. in American Studies program and its annual Spring Academy for international doctoral students offer qualified junior scholars the opportunity to intensively study all aspects of American life and at the same time build academic networks.

A Forum for Public Debate

The HCA does not only see itself as a premier center for research and teaching, but also as a forum for a lively dialogue between the academia and the public. This commitment is writ large in the Baden-Württemberg Seminar of the Heidelberg Center for American Studies. Each spring and fall, the HCA invites distinguished scholars, public policy experts, journalists, writers, and artists to present their current work, discuss issues of transatlantic interest or read from their writings at selected institutions throughout the state of Baden-Württemberg.

HCA: Email
Latest Revision: 2016-02-11
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
Downloads

Ziele und Aufgaben

Das Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA) wurde 2003 als Zentralinstitut der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg gegründet und erfüllt insbesondere drei Funktionen:

  • In der Lehre bieten wir einen Bachelorstudiengang sowie einen Master- und einen Ph.D.-Studiengang in englischer Sprache an.
  • Als Center for Interdisciplinary Research ermöglichen wir die Durchführung internationaler Konferenzen und interdisziplinärer Forschungsprojekte.
  • Zudem versteht sich das HCA als Forum für den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit über Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur der USA.

Das Zentrum wurde mit Hilfe privater Spender und Förderer aufgebaut und finanziert sich zu etwa zwei Dritteln aus privaten und öffentlichen Drittmitteln. Als eine derartige "private public partnership" ist das Center einzigartig unter den deutschen Amerikazentren.

Lehre

Das HCA bildet mit seinen Bachelor-, Master- und Promotionsprogrammen interdisziplinär geschulte und interkulturell qualifizierte Amerikaexperten für die Wissenschaft, den öffentlichen Sektor, die Wirtschaft, die Medien und zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen aus. Der Lehrkörper rekrutiert sich aus deutschen Professoren und Dozenten mit langjähriger Amerikaerfahrung und amerikanischen Gastwissenschaftlern mit beträchtlicher Auslandserfahrung. Die Amerikastudien am HCA zeichnen sich somit gleichermaßen durch eine intime Kenntnis der Vereinigten Staaten und den Blick von außen aus: "Inside knowledge with an outside perspective!"

Alle Lehrveranstaltungen am HCA werden in englischer Sprache gehalten, sodass wir Studierende aus aller Welt für die M.A.- und Ph.D.-Studiengänge gewinnen können. Mit seinen Absolventen aus bisher mehr als 40 Ländern konnte das HCA bereits ein internationales Netzwerk aus Amerikaspezialisten aufbauen, das sukzessive erweitert werden soll. Gemeinsam mit dem Curt-Engelhorn-Lehrstuhl für Amerikanische Geschichte am Historischen Seminar führt das HCA Exkursionen in die USA für Heidelberger Studierende durch.

Forschung

Das HCA bündelt die auf Amerika bezogene Forschung von sechs Fakultäten und zehn Disziplinen und bietet damit eine weltweit einzigartige Vielfalt landeskundlicher Expertise an. Das Zusammenspiel der verschiedenen Disziplinen ermöglicht es, Amerikastudien aus einer fächerübergreifenden Perspektive zu betreiben und der Komplexität des Forschungsgegenstandes 'USA' gerecht zu werden. Durch die Schaffung mehrerer hauseigener Wissenschaftlerstellen und durch den Aufbau eines Gastwissenschaftlerzentrums positioniert sich das HCA als ein international renommiertes und wettbewerbsfähiges Forschungszentrum.

Das Promotionsprogramm Ph.D. in American Studies und die jährliche Spring Academy für Doktoranden aus aller Welt bieten qualifizierten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit, verschiedenste Aspekte der Vereinigten Staaten gründlich zu erforschen und akademische Netzwerke zu bilden.

Forum

Das HCA versteht sich jedoch nicht nur als Kompetenzzentrum in Forschung und Lehre, sondern auch als Forum für einen regen Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit. Diesem Anliegen dient insbesondere das Baden-Württemberg Seminar of the Heidelberg Center for American Studies, eine jeweils im Frühjahr und Herbst stattfindende Veranstaltungsreihe, in der renommierte Repräsentanten aus Wissenschaft, Kultur, Medien und Politik relevante Themen des transatlantischen Dialogs in ausgewählten Institutionen im ganzen Bundesland diskutieren.

HCA: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 11.02.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up