Bereichsbild
Stucco-wbg
Contact

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
Downloads
Home > About us >

Organization

At the HCA, the America-related research of six university faculties and ten disciplines converges, offering a range of expertise that is unique in the academic world. The interaction between the various disciplines makes it possible to teach American Studies with a cross-disciplinary perspective and therefore do justice to the complexity of the object of research – the United States.

The following disciplines participate in the HCA:

The Board of Directors of the Heidelberg Center of American Studies consists of members from the six faculties that contribute to the HCA. These are the Faculties of Chemistry and Earth Sciences; Economics and Social Sciences; Law; Modern Languages; Philosophy; and Theology. Each faculty director on the board is elected for six years.

The Board of Directors consists of the following members:

Berg

Prof. Dr. Manfred Berg
Deputy Director
(Faculty of Philosophy)

Gerhard _ulrike

Prof. Dr.
Ulrike Gerhard

Deputy Director
(Faculty of Chemistry and Earth Sciences)

Grzeszick

Prof. Dr.
Bernd Grzeszick

(Faculty of Law)

Harnisch _sebastian

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Harnisch
(Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences)

Leypoldt

Prof. Dr.
Günter Leypoldt

(Faculty of Modern Languages)

Stievermann _jan 125x157px

Prof. Dr. Jan Stievermann
(Faculty of Theology)

In November 2005, the HCA established a board of trustees. Currently, it consists of eight members, all of them supporters of the HCA and of the endeavor to sustain a leading center for American Studies and transatlantic exchange at Heidelberg University. Along with HCA Founding Director Professor Detlef Junker, who chairs the board, they are: Dr. Martin Bussmann (Mannheim LLC), Carsten Brzeski (ING Bank), Ray Carrell, Heidemarie Engelhorn, Joachim Häger (ODDO BHF AG), Dr. h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger (MLP), and the rector of Heidelberg University, Professor Bernhard Eitel. We would like to thank past members of the board of trustees for their service: Dr. Kurt Bock (BASF), Curt Engelhorn †, Rolf Kentner (BW-Bank) †, Dr. Bernd A. von Maltzan (Deutsche Bank), and Dr. Hans-Peter Wild (WILD GmbH). The board of trustees meets at least once a year to discuss the institute's progress and to advise its future developments.

Wild

Dr. Hans-Peter Wild
Chairman, WILD GmbH & Co KG, Heidelberg-Eppelheim

Bock

Carsten Brzeski
Chefvolkswirt für Deutschland und Österreich der ING

Bussmann

Dr. Martin Bussmann
Mannheim LLC, New York City

Carrell

Ray Carrell

Eitel

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil
Bernhard Eitel

Rector, Heidelberg University

Engelhorn _heidemarie

Heidemarie Engelhorn
Honorary Senator of Heidelberg University

Hager

Joachim Häger
Member of the Management Board, ODDO BHF AG and ODDO BHF SCA

Junker _detlef

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c.
Detlef Junker

HCA Founding Director

Lautenschlaeger

Dr. h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger
Chairman, MLP AG, Heidelberg

 

HCA: Email
Latest Revision: 2021-03-25
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

hca@uni-hd.de

 
Downloads

Struktur

Das Heidelberg Center for American Studies (HCA) ist als interdisziplinäre Lehr- und Forschungsstätte konzipiert, an dem zehn Fächer aus sechs verschiedenen Fakultäten der Universität Heidelberg beteiligt sind. Das Zusammenspiel der verschiedenen Disziplinen ermöglicht es, Amerikastudien aus einer fächerübergreifenden Perspektive zu betreiben und damit der Komplexität des Forschungsgegenstandes 'USA' stärker gerecht zu werden.

Folgende Disziplinen sind am HCA beteiligt:

Das HCA wird von einem Direktorium geleitet, in das jede der sechs am HCA beteiligten Fakultäten – Fakultät für Chemie und Geowissenschaften, Juristische Fakultät, Theologische Fakultät, Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, Philosophische Fakultät und Neuphilologische Fakultät – einen Professor auf sechs Jahre entsendet. Das Direktorium wählt aus seiner Mitte den Direktor und seine beiden Stellvertreter.

Das Direktorium des HCA setzt sich folgendermaßen zusammen:

Berg

Prof. Dr. Manfred Berg
Stellv. Direktor
(Philosophische Fakultät)

Gerhard _ulrike

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Gerhard
Stellv. Direktorin
(Fakultät für Chemie und Geowissen-schaften)

Grzeszick

Prof. Dr. Bernd Grzeszick
(Juristische Fakultät)

Harnisch _sebastian

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Harnisch
(Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften)

Leypoldt

Prof. Dr. Günter Leypoldt
(Neuphilologische Fakultät)

Stievermann _jan 125x157px

Prof. Dr. Jan Stievermann
(Theologische Fakultät)

Das Kuratorium des HCA wurde im November 2005 gegründet. Es besteht derzeit aus acht Mitgliedern, die alle Unterstützer des HCA und Förderer der Amerikastudien und des transatlantischen Austauschs an der Universität Heidelberg sind. Neben dem Gründungsdirektor des HCA, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Detlef Junker, der dem Gremium vorsitzt, sind dies: Dr. Martin Bussmann (Mannheim LLC), Carsten Brzeski (ING Bank), Ray Carrell, Heidemarie Engelhorn, Joachim Häger (ODDO BHF AG), Dr. h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger (MLP), und der Rektor der Universität Heidelberg, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Bernhard Eitel. Wir bedanken uns bei den bisherigen Mitgliedern des Kuratoriums für ihre Tätigkeit im Kuratorium: Dr. Kurt Bock (BASF), Curt Engelhorn †, Rolf Kentner (BW Bank) †, Dr. Bernd A. von Maltzan (Deutsche Bank), Dr. Hans-Peter Wild (WILD GmbH). Das Kuratorium trifft sich mindestens einmal im Jahr, um die Entwicklung des Instituts zu diskutieren und dem Zentrum beratend zur Seite zu stehen.

Wild

Dr. Hans-Peter Wild
Chairman, WILD GmbH & Co KG, Heidelberg-Eppelheim

Bock

Carsten Brzeski
Chefvolkswirt für Deutschland und Österreich der ING

Bussmann

Dr. Martin Bussmann
Mannheim LLC, New York City

Carrell

Ray Carrell

Eitel

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil
Bernhard Eitel

Rektor, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Engelhorn _heidemarie

Heidemarie Engelhorn
Ehrensenatorin der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Hager

Joachim Häger
Vorstand ODDO BHF AG und ODDO BHF SCA

Junker _detlef

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c.
Detlef Junker

HCA Gründungsdirektor

Lautenschlaeger

Dr. h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger
Chairman, MLP AG, Heidelberg

 

HCA: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 25.03.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up