Heidelberg Center
for American Studies

Curt und Heidemarie
Engelhorn Palais

Hauptstraße 120
D-69117 Heidelberg

T: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3710
F: +49 (0)6221 / 54 3719

Home > About us >


At the HCA, the America-related research of six university faculties and ten disciplines converges, offering a range of expertise that is unique in the academic world. The interaction between the various disciplines makes it possible to teach American Studies with a cross-disciplinary perspective and therefore do justice to the complexity of the object of research – the United States.

The following disciplines participate in the HCA:

The Board of Directors of the Heidelberg Center of American Studies consists of members from the six faculties that contribute to the HCA. These are the Faculties of Chemistry and Earth Sciences; Economics and Social Sciences; Law; Modern Languages; Philosophy; and Theology. Each faculty director on the board is elected for six years.

The Board of Directors consists of the following members:


Prof. Dr. Manfred Berg
Deputy Director
(Faculty of Philosophy)

Gerhard _ulrike

Prof. Dr.
Ulrike Gerhard

Deputy Director
(Faculty of Chemistry and Earth Sciences)


Prof. Dr.
Bernd Grzeszick

(Faculty of Law)

Harnisch _sebastian

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Harnisch
(Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences)


Prof. Dr.
Günter Leypoldt

(Faculty of Modern Languages)

In June 2006, the HCA established a Board of Trustees. It consists out of ten members; all of them long time supporters of the HCA, aiming at creating a leading center for American Studies and transatlantic exchange at Heidelberg University. The Board of Trustees meets at least once a year to discuss current developments of the institute and to give advice on future prospects. Dr. Hans-Peter Wild serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees.


Dr. Hans-Peter Wild
Chairman, WILD GmbH & Co KG, Heidelberg-Eppelheim


Dr. Kurt Bock
Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors, BASF SE


Dr. Martin Bussmann
Mannheim LLC, New York City


Ray Carrell


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil
Bernhard Eitel

Rector, Heidelberg University

Engelhorn _curt

Curt Engelhorn †
Honorary Senator of Heidelberg University

Engelhorn _heidemarie

Heidemarie Engelhorn
Honorary Senator of Heidelberg University


Joachim Häger
Member of the Management Board, ODDO BHF AG and ODDO BHF SCA

Junker _detlef

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c.
Detlef Junker

HCA Founding Director


Rolf Kentner
Baden-Württembergische Bank AG, Mannheim


Dr. h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger
Chairman, MLP AG, Heidelberg


HCA: Email
Latest Revision: 2018-11-12
zum Seitenanfang/up